RSS

The Blink

31 Oct

Good evening folks, today’s post was written by @mssyinkaa. Enjoy as you read and kindly leave your comments.

 

20/06/13; 8:55pm

The rain did not prevent her from leaving her house to drop the foodstuff and clothes for the children that depend solely on her. It was her usual practice every last Saturday of the month except November and December. She was always out of the country to spend Christmas with her parents in Johannesburg, South Africa. I was her neighbour for eight years; I knew almost all her routine if not all. The late night light in her room between 9:45pm and 10:00pm every night which signalled she was ready to study and the use of flash light around 2am for midnight study. I knew her schedule like the back of my hand. I never saw her study on her bed or well arranged desk which bore all sorts of hard cover textbooks. It always baffled me how she used to act all jumpy while reading and still aced her results. She graduated with a first class in Law. I was excited for her.

 

09/05/2013; 7:55pm.

After a long hectic day of celebration, I got home tired and met another party organised by my family. The joy that I finished with the ‘expected first class’ filled my home. The excitement was palpable even though all my siblings, except for the baby of the house who was just 12 years old, graduated with a first class degree.

“It runs in my blood”, my father’s usual line whenever any of us aced any exam. Mother noticed I was too tired for the after-party. She gathered the family, said some prayers and handed me the key to my new car. I was excited but I wanted to just get into my room to watch her…to celebrate her result with her from a distance. I just wanted to see her smile and giggle with her younger sister. I said thank you and prostrated to show my appreciation to my parents after which I rushed upstairs.

8:40pm

She was plugged.’ Not today again…’ I twisted my lips. I wanted to see her jump, throw her books from her study desk and just not act out her usual self. See her celebrate being free from books after years of hard-work. I did not move from my window until my brother turned on the light. I did not know when I shouted at him. He looked at me with a hurt what-did-I-do-wrong face. I smiled at him to let go of the hurt. He climbed my bed and said he wanted to sleep in my room.

‘”Why?!”

He was surprised at my sharp and cold response but I let him anyway on the condition that the light was switched off. He slept almost immediately. I assumed my position. She was typing again. I tried to figure out what she could be typing but I let my curiosity slide. A fence separated us.  We were two hearts apart. I did not feel so bad not seeing her in her jumpy mood, looking at her and knowing she was okay was enough for me.

 

20/06/13

The downpour was too heavy and she still did not turn back to her house.  I left my balcony, got my car and drove out of my compound before she walked out of the street. She had an umbrella but with the stuff she was carrying, it was difficult for her to walk without stopping to adjust. I decided to make use of the opportunity to talk to her by offering her a ride to wherever it is she wanted to go.  Getting anything I want was not a task, same with getting the attention of people but I guess Cecilia was not one of those people. She was the type of lady every good man would want to have. She was the brightest side of life though she barely laughed or smiled.  She was beautiful, smart and incomparable. She was the youngest but the most independent of all. Her family could be considered as the silent wealthy ones though I am sure they have their little struggles like every other family.

I continuously honked to get her attention but she ignored me. This lady sure is rigid. Even the rain and chills that came with it did not make her change her mind. I stepped out of the car despite the heavy rain. I had no umbrella with me. I called her by name, but the wind did not let her hear me. I walked up to her, stood in front of her, made to speak and then, nothing. I could not say anything. I was blank. The weather made her look more beautiful. She wore a sleeveless short gown with a black jacket that did not hang well on her shoulder revealing where the sleeve of the gown ended. She was cold. She knew me as her neighbour but we had never been an inch close to each other before. I smiled at her and she smiled back as her eyes brightened up and waited for me to find my tongue. I swallowed, hard.

“Can I drop you off? It’s cold you know.”

Those words came out without any conscious thought. Being so close to her felt like an out-of-body experience. She smiled at me and shook her head. I asked why. She smiled again.

“A friend is on his way to come pick me”, she said.

I did not want to leave so I stayed in the rain with her as she waited for her friend. She asked me to share the umbrella with her but I said no. She had enough items in hand to occupy the space. Deep down, I was really cold. I had never been out in the rain that long but it did not matter. Her presence and frequent ‘thank yous’ made me not think much about how I was going to catch a fever days after. Five minutes later, her friend came. She said her final thank you and I watched them leave.

I was soaked.

I drove the car back into the compound. I was cold. My body got pinched all over with my wet clothes. I rushed in to get into something dry and tried to sleep but I could not. I played the whole scene again in my head and smiled. She was more beautiful than I had thought.

 

She did not return until 10pm. I was worried. Her friend dropped her. The reflection of the car that passed made me see his face and then it all turned dark. The security light of her house was off but I could see her reflection because of the lights from my house. She banged her gate but no response. Her sister was probably out. Her shadow revealed how she struggled to get the key to her gate. I watched closely. She bent to pick something from the ground. I saw her raise her head up but this time, it was not only her shadow, it turned out to be three. I smiled. Her sister was back and probably with her friend too. I left the balcony and went into my room.

 

I took my position and waited for hours. Still, no light came from her room. I checked her compound again, it was dark. I turned on my light to check if there was power. It came on. I could not fathom why there was no light in her compound. I slept off till around 2am to the sound of blaring sirens.

 

 

She had been murdered.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2013 in Short Story

 

Tags: , , , ,

38 responses to “The Blink

  1. Oludapo Tolulope | lifegiva2

    July 17, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Mehn! That was the exact exclamation on seeing the last line, and I had to read the last two paragraphs again. I love this write up, so real and graphic, held my attention with curiosity from start to finish.
    Great job Yinka.

     
  2. Fadare Jacob

    March 11, 2014 at 6:09 pm

    what a great and lovely writeup it is. Cudos to the writer Miss Yinka. A well, short and meaningful short story to hunger for. A story which I love the beginning and never expect to end the way it does.
    Note: Anything you want to do, do it when the chance opens wide before you. No one knows what the next seconds holds at hand.

     
  3. hebedunni

    March 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Hmnnnn,,,my yinnee of lyf,,dunno wat 2 say tho,bt very obvious dt mr iguanre passed thru you,,well nyc choice of words,,well composed tho still in suspense nd a sad ending bt I enjoyed d story tho,,nd off cuz lessons learnt’…thumbs up sweetie

     
  4. Andrew Olasunkanmi

    January 28, 2014 at 11:55 am

    Not a love story with a happy ending though, ’twas a-hope-dashed peice; the power of creativity got my attention captured.

     
  5. israel

    January 28, 2014 at 10:57 am

    Great write up. Choice of words very simple and direct. The story gave me something to hunger for from the beginning to the end. Didn’t see the tragedy at the end coming though. Thumbs up. You could try pursue a career in literature writing. Frm this I feel you did make an excellent writer. Thumbs up again

     
  6. Ayeyemi

    January 21, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    the little piece is interesting, the writing is promising. If Yinka can work harder she would soon be on top of the world with her stories.

     
  7. blessingonyenuwe13

    January 8, 2014 at 7:08 am

    why i am just seeing/reading this? lol…its a .beautiful one you have here Miss Yinka.

     
  8. madonna

    January 7, 2014 at 6:00 am

    Wow!…suspense filled….didn’t see the sad end coming tho

     
  9. nonyerem

    December 9, 2013 at 8:16 am

    Shocking end but in all it was a great story. Lesson learnt. If you know what you have to do, do it immediately before it’s taken to the morgue.

     
  10. Cobra

    November 16, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Find the word that describes a situation that builds up d tension in u, slowly reeln u in & pulln u up like u’r climbn a mountain or bringn in a prize fish, & den d rope snaps & ur left senseless & longn. U just found d word 2 describe dis tale. Kudos Ms Yinka.

     
  11. Samuel

    November 8, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Decent composition, interesting storyline, lovely ending,…a lot left to imagination.

     
  12. ileseunayo

    November 5, 2013 at 9:29 am

    brilliant

     
  13. holubume

    November 2, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Brilliant story mz yinka… Love the powerful choice of words and sentence cordination.. Couldn’t expect less..

     
  14. iamholukay

    November 1, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    Really nice and sweet story

     
  15. Bankie's World

    November 1, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    I Read and Shared. Hope you did same? They’ll love and you’ll be glad you did.
    Bankie’s World

     
  16. Bankie's World

    November 1, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    I’m glad I read and shared. Hope you did same?
    Bankie’s World

     
  17. Bankie's World

    November 1, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    I love the narration, the way it was carved out, its intensity yet mild and ‘graspable’. The close relationship that couldn’t be felt. ‘…blaring siren’ at 2am to pick up someone that was murdered in front of her house! Hmm! doesn’t feel like 9ja anyway. *smiling
    In respect to reality and creative depiction of the author’s idea, its a good one.
    Makanjuola more power to your elbow.
    Bankie’ s World

     
  18. Gabriel Temitope

    November 1, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    Wow! I must say this is breathe-taking and suspense filled, especially at the end. It’s a brilliant and constructive piece that deserves accolades. I can’t wait for the continuation of this, it was worth my time!

     
  19. Cherry

    November 1, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Tragic, yet beautiful. I love it.

     
  20. Mare

    November 1, 2013 at 9:20 am

    Brilliant! I’m impressed yinka, keep it up!

     
  21. banjhie

    November 1, 2013 at 3:58 am

    buh dis tragedy we av to kno wahs goin 2 happen o….so m hopin 4 a part 2

     
  22. banjhie

    November 1, 2013 at 3:57 am

    wow! this is a nice story! it really made sense!

     
  23. bunmi

    October 31, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    Ma frndship lovely story

     
  24. Kloud

    October 31, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    Articulate flow… like peeking into the mind of an individual via his diary. Great read

     
  25. Adedayo

    October 31, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    Graphical. Power choice of words. Suspense filled. Very well written. Nice one Yinka, weldone. Write more often.

     
  26. seun odewumi

    October 31, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    It would be an unpardonable sin,an incalculable injustice not to shower myriad forms of encomiums on this piece that portrays the delicate manner the author has used her intellect to string this words to arouse deep feeling of interest and spark!~nice work

     
  27. lord_monkeyzz

    October 31, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    Woooooooow yinka this is a Good one!!
    Nice. #speechless
    “But still i think she must have been murdered by the friend who dropped her”

     
  28. voke

    October 31, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Wow! very nice dear

     
  29. Tha Teaser

    October 31, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Great story. The guy shud jus commit suicide so he can continue his p afterlife where there’s no distraction … And in case he’s stingy, its even better. He won’t have to spend after death..

     
  30. Tha Teaser

    October 31, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    Great story. The guy shud jus commit suicide so he can continue his p afterlife where there’s no distraction 😀 … And in case he’s stingy, its even better. He won’t have to spend after death..

     
  31. nneka

    October 31, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    Wow!shocker!didn’t see dt coming!sad end…rily sad.

     
  32. Amon Ra

    October 31, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    Beautifully written, loaded from start to finish, nice Detailing, I actually thought I was reading something that would lead to intimimacy between em and den she gets pregenant and all, but naah.. Very sad ending!
    Nice piece…

    But she didn’t die tho, no one knows

     
  33. vhiktaw

    October 31, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Wow! Very interesting one…the girl was mudered and that shld be by d ‘2 shadows’ that joined her at the gate. The shadows might av been that of the sister and frnd as assumed by the writer snce he didn’t see there faces and vice versa

     
  34. ololzy

    October 31, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    Say what?!?!
    Didn’t Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ dat coming… Wow!!!
    Pls don’t tell me this is where it ends…

     
  35. ebi

    October 31, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    powerful descriptive skills and strong suspense. l could never predict the ending of the story. Beautiful piece Yinka and i do hope to read more of your works.

     
  36. ademola

    October 31, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    Awww. Interesting tho. Whats gon happen next.. *supense is killing me*

     
  37. lekan

    October 31, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    Beautiful one mss yinka.. Luvly.. so d murderer cld either b d friend or sisters friend or even the. Sister.. Pls tell us

     
  38. regina

    October 31, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Interesting piece of writing…hope there’s a follow up to the story. We Nigerians like part 1 and 2 you know 🙂

     

Enter comment

 
