RSS

Ladies First

06 Mar

*dusts cobweb from blog*
It has been a crazy week or two for me as I have been busy and well I also did hit a creative wall. All that I guess is gone now. This week I am having a guest on my blog. She has been a guest on my blog before with the post here. You can also visit her blog. I should warn you that you should read that blog with someone so people will not think you are mad when you start laughing alone. You can follow her on Twitter @DJ_Fleau. #ThankMeLater

LADIES FIRST….. no be bad thing to spoil man

God made man and then He thought to himself it is not good that man should be alone so He made for him a help mate WOMAN. The story is so straight to the point God created a help mate not a man mugu maker.

I am sure most women have said stuffs like “can you imagine the yeye boy he saw me buying coke he did not even pay for it. He sat there and watched me pay or can you imagine he paid for his bus fare alone and he allowed me pay for mine or can you imagine that boy he met me at the cafeteria he didn’t even offer to pay for my food (Why didn’t you offer to pay for his instead since he forgot to offer to pay for you)”

Its funny how over the years the world has been made to believe that anytime a man and woman go out or meet somewhere it is automatically the job of the man to pay for whatever bills they might incur as long as he knows the woman e.g. meeting him in a bus, you guys seeing a movie together, having lunch or dinner etc. It is like the job of man to pay for everything. Most women do not even leave with money anymore when going out with a man and most women would return their wallet to their bags the moment they see a man they know walking towards them because they assume he would pay for them.

What is wrong with a lady paying the bill for a date, what is wrong with a lady paying for the movie they are to see or the popcorn at the cinema, what’s wrong with paying his cab fare home (yes I said it), buying airtime for him or paying for his BIS without him asking for it and so on. Its little things like this that matter most times and men are more likely to remember things like this.

Truth is some men might see you as being cocky or a show off if you decide to foot the bill on a first date (depends on how you acted while paying), I am not saying you should pay regularly but at least once a yellow moon would be a nice time to pay for something. Believe me any reasonable man would appreciate that. You guys are at the cinema and you guys are selecting the movie and you quickly reach for your wallet and say “let me get this one you can get the popcorn” (The problem is most ladies can not do this because they always go on a date with empty wallet no vex money and have turned the man to sole provider).

I know you buy him gifts on Valentine’s Day, Christmas, his birthday, your anniversary or casually. I am not just talking about your boo, bobo, spouse, boyfriend, man or whatever they are called these days, I am referring to that young man you met yesterday at work, the young man you met on a flight, the young man who just told you he liked you, the young man who wants to spend time with you, that young man you met in the bus (what’s wrong with paying his bus money sef) etc.

I for one try to pay bills on first date, I might not pay for everything we purchase but I try at least to make sure I pay for something even if its just N200 for the drink we bought or for a snooker game he played or something, nothing is too small to pay for.

I am sure there are men reading this who cannot even say the colour of their babe’s wallet or purse because she never carries it or bring it out (shebi na when you ready to spend you go carry wallet now) when she has a walking bank beside her.
Who said men must always be the first to foot bills, God created Man FIRST before woman and not FIRST BANK. Except your boyfriend’s name is FIRST BANK then I guess when it comes to bill the guy will pay till eternity.

I know some men do not like women paying the bills neither am I saying the woman should pay for everything on a date because the truth is she might not have as much money as the man after all it was he that invited the babe and it was not in her budget at all but at least once a while babes should try small small. Do not wait until marriage before you start paying, when you and your husband go out. It is from boyfriend-girlfriend or normal friendship that things start

The one that cracks me up is when a babe invites a guy out to see a movie, or just hang out somewhere and when they get there he foots all the bill, she wont even try to open her bag to bring out her wallet not to talk of paying, she would simply order stand aside and watch him pay.*smh profusely*

I am not saying the babe should spend on a man over and over (its not like something is wrong with that), but I just feel a small thing as paying for the gala he buys in traffic, money for the parking space ticket (e no dey pass N200), bottle water he buys, the shoe maker that polished his shoe, the vulcanizer that pumped his tire…truth is when you pay for this at the end of the day he probably would try to repay you the money with triple the sum you paid (no collect am o) simply smile and say “it was nothing”.

Let me teach you a quick trick when next you go out to a restaurant or some place put your hand in your bag or bring out your wallet like you want to pay, you would see he would look at you and give you a smile like what are you doing simply smile back and say let me get this one, he definitely would say NO I got this one (that’s if na correct boy, no go try this one with Mr. AKA-GLUE…..baba ijebu, because you go pay tire).

How about we ladies try something that is out of norm, when next you go out with your mister pay his cab fare home, when next you run into your male colleague in the bus do not zip up your bag with your mind saying “ope ooo this guy go pay my bus fare” how about you pay for it, how about when next you go on a date for the first time with a brother you tell him you would love to share the bill (I know its sounds weird).

Most men respect ladies like this, they see her as independent yet considerate, they appreciate such women because they assume that such a lady wont turn them into their ATM (even if you do sef the guy no go feel am) plus as a lady its kinda fun when you take the role of the man for a second.

PS: Come this one no mean say because I talk say babes should try and pay first you brothers should start forming she should get the bill, na once a yellow moon I talk oo….. Once a while Ladies should do the stuffs first…

I am FLEAU.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2012 in Article

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “Ladies First

  1. Marilyn

    July 10, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I quite agree, its a culture we must imbibe as ladies, but like you said not all the time and depending on the guy. No offence but most guys this days would hands off once you pay! More like “o yeah, the babe get moni o”..”Lol.. So I’d say study the guy first before you nake it a habit of paying/contributing to the bill!

     
  2. moneybaron

    March 6, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    AsIn. Delm. This was brilliant. I agree. Babes should pay too. Tf! C.u. Babes generally go just put hand for pocket. I want a girl that offers to get that. I mean. We get a cab and she’s like haggling with the cabman for the tfare. Making it her biz. Sigh* we all want women that care*

     
  3. Ilesanmi Seun

    March 6, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Nice one, caring shld be both ways just lyk love is mutual btw both parties.

     
  4. Dr_bamz

    March 6, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    On point.. Truth is; any guy will respect such babe who offers to foot a bill. That’s responsibility and u can have an assurance that when you are married (if it ends there) u are secured

     
  5. toseen

    March 6, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Nice one.i agree on that but basically its whoever invited who for the date that’s supposed to foot the bill.of which in most cases, it happens to be the guy. Personally i can only do it if I’m in a relationship with the guy if not…OYO

     
  6. Fleau

    March 6, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    @fierce how broke can one possibly be,off course d guy wud no dat but dere is nothing 2 small in this case.
    U payin 4 just d drinks while pays 4 d food is something.

    @adepitan true that there is nothing wrong in pay his bills but again there is something wrong in payin it regularly.
    Once a yellow moon means once every 4mnths. When i mean bills i mean small things outside buying him gifts 4 occasions….pls dont go and start paying skul fees,house rents and whatsoever. Dont let him turn u 2 cash madam o.

     
  7. fierce

    March 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    Wt if genuinely she does not have money

     
  8. John

    March 6, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Nice one Fleau. You clearly made your point and you were witty as u did so. Big ups to you.

     
  9. Adepitan olufunmie

    March 6, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Once in a yellow moon you say abi? *sighs* I tired it sometime ago and the guy got use to it o! Lool! This is really nice, I always tell my friends that its not a crime2 pay bills once in a while but they never agree with me. Am sending this to my friends now.

     
  10. Fleau

    March 6, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Thanks for the comment,I gues most guys and girls agree with me.
    NICE.

     
  11. Jmoks

    March 6, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I like this.

     
  12. @theslickguy

    March 6, 2012 at 11:10 am

    This is one of the REALEST! EPIC! ON POINT! Blog/article I have ever read authored by a woman. I must confess, please send this link every gurl u knw. Gurls of nowadays are walking parasites.

    Follow me @theslickguy on twitter :D.

     
  13. segun oyefule

    March 6, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Really Really like this post. Girls should try paying for the little things, like parking tickets and things. I personally don’t like girls paying when I take them out, but an attempt to settle one bill would be graced by a smile, an extra gold star in my book and a refund of the money spent by her in some way.

     
  14. MafabaAlaso

    March 6, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Does it mean all those ‘let me pay’ gurls do say na film trick or animation abi na screensaver????
    Anywhay, I rearly go on a date but when I do, I always take care of the bills nd I love it that way but a gurl once beat me to my game, *sighs* she swept me off my feet and I still can’t forget the date even when av had other dates after that.

     
  15. doll

    March 6, 2012 at 10:54 am

    Loool. This is funny. I also don’t believe in guys footing all d bills. If I invite u to watch a movie wit me I pay d billl afterall I invited u. But don’t expect me to do it everytime o oooo (once in a yellow moon). Nice write up 🙂

     
  16. teekellz

    March 6, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Enjoyed reading this though…….. And honestly if she offers to share the bill with me my respect for her……………………………. *soars*

     

Enter comment

 
