RSS

Towards The White Light

20 Feb

Happy New Week to everyone. I hope you all had a great weekend. Do not bother asking me how my weekend was. Why? You do not need to know why. I was talking to a friend of mine and she inspired this post, even though the talk and this post are exact opposite. You also do not need to know what the talk was about. Anyways, let me leave you to read the post,kindly comment and tell a friend. If you need to send a broadcast message, kindly do so.

Why is daddy shouting at mummy? He has never raised his voice at her. Mummy is crying. Why is mummy crying? Daddy is so angry. Why is he angry? I called daddy but I cannot even hear my own voice. I can only feel my mouth moving. I try again but it is still the same thing.
Daddy is walking towards me. I guess he heard my voice. I reach out for his hands but he just walked past me. What have I done wrong? Is it because I came second in class? I am sorry. I will do better next term. Mummy is on the bed. She is still crying. I go to meet mummy. I jump on the bed and she did not even notice me. I touch mummy and she did not even look at me. Why is no one talking to me? I have been a good girl.

Daddy comes back into the room, he dropped a small box on the bed. He is putting some shirts and trousers inside. Wow! We are going on a trip. He did not tell me. I guess he was planning on surprising me. I run to my room to pack my things. My wardrobe is locked and I cannot open it. Only mummy can. She must have packed for me.
I run back to their room and find mummy on her knees begging daddy not to go. Where is he going to? Are we not going with him?
” Leave me alone” daddy screamed
Why is he screaming? Gentlemen do not scream. He always says that. He is a gentleman. Why is he now screaming?
I see a tear fall out of daddy’s eye. I have never seen him cry. What is going on?
“You were on the phone with your lover and you forgot to fasten our daughter’s seat belt. She was thrown against the wind screen when you had the collision” said daddy
Collision? What is a collision ? Daddy will explain to me later. He always does.
” I am sorry” said mummy.
“Will sorry bring back our daughter?” daddy asked
“I am sorry” replied mummy.
“Koyinsola is gone. My baby is gone. She had a lot of potential and out of your selfishness and carelessness you have deprived her of that” said daddy.
Mummy cried harder.
“She was just 5. How do you even sleep at night, knowing you killed our daughter?” asked daddy
The tears just kept flowing from mummy’s eyes.
“She is dead and it is all your fault” continued daddy as he zipped up the box.
Dead? Who is dead? Me? Oh my God. What happened? What is the date? It is 26th March. The last thing I remember was five days ago.
Mummy came to pick me from school and she promised to get me ice-cream. I wanted to tell her to fasten my seat belt but she was driving and on the phone and daddy said it is rude to interrupt when one is on the phone. I looked at mummy and the next thing I heard was a loud bang. Oh my God.
Daddy is trying to get mummy to leave his leg as he picks up his box. He gets to the door of the room, looks back and drops his wedding ring on the floor. Mummy is on the floor, crying. Everything is fading, mummy is fading away, I cannot see anything. All I can see is a bright light………………………

 
22 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Short Story

 

Tags: , , , , ,

22 responses to “Towards The White Light

  1. aramide

    February 20, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    epic! im proud of u!

     
  2. Jmoks

    February 20, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    *grabs hanky* *wipes tears* *smiles* Dis Hardeyi can write o!

     
  3. Adepitan olufunmie

    February 20, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    *cleans tears* I shud forward this!

     
  4. kookie

    February 20, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Bt y is it 5 days l8r dt she saw d white light? #jstasking

     
  5. Irven

    February 20, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    wow…..nice technique

     
  6. @Kes147

    February 20, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Good job man! More grease…. And God’s speed!

     
  7. @damiposh

    February 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    lover bawo?
    the story was predictable for me…i read alot, maybe that’s why

     
  8. Kale

    February 20, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Nice…u got potential bro

     
  9. adejoke

    February 20, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    hmmm…β„“ΜŠ luv dis!

     
  10. nneka rita

    February 20, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Sad story,buh well plotted!u should probably strt thinking of going into writiing shortstories or novels.*wink*

     
  11. ani

    February 20, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    awwwwwwwwww

     
  12. Tamilore

    February 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Another good one!

     
  13. MafabaAlaso

    February 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Lolz! Confused ghost. Haahaahaaa……. But where is daddy goin to nd who’s mums luver????

    Nice one brova!!!

     
  14. mysterychic03

    February 20, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww so touching and so sad………….Good thing dat its just a story *whew

     
  15. ms_larebony

    February 20, 2012 at 11:57 am

    This is deep. Just can’t imagine what I would do if twas my husband dat killed our baby.

     
  16. Adetona

    February 20, 2012 at 11:48 am

    I like the way the tension builds up till the daughter eventually discovers she’s dead. Good story bro, but not the best, but I must admit it’s a smart one. Good job.

     
  17. eesjay

    February 20, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Nice 1 bro

     
  18. Foluke

    February 20, 2012 at 11:35 am

    That was heartbreaking……I can imagine d guilt and d hurt.

     
  19. Dr_bamz

    February 20, 2012 at 11:28 am

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! From the 1st paragraph, I imagined Eminem singing this! And realizing in the end that the narrator is dead makes it more interesting. Nice as usual! (Y)

     
  20. teekellz

    February 20, 2012 at 11:17 am

    This is real nice bro, very very nice, simple, no ambiguity.

     
  21. musingsofalily

    February 20, 2012 at 11:16 am

    😦
    This is so sad.
    I love the way you wove your story.

     
  22. ilove2read

    February 20, 2012 at 11:04 am

    WOW……..I am speechless bro!!!!!

     

Enter comment

 
