RSS

What If

15 Feb

Shout out to all the guys that will be living from hand to mouth for the next two weeks. God will make you bigger or better still make you wise. If she truly loves you, you do not have to go bankrupt just to get her something for valentine. Besides, it is not only on Valentine you ought to get her something. Oh well, enough with my rants and to the business of the day.

I could still feel the sting on my face. I did not know her small and cute fingers could have such effect on my cheek. She hit my left cheek repeatedly. She hit me out of anger, out of frustration and out of disgust for me. I understand how she feels. I understand that she probably hates me right now because I will hate me right now.
“Why now?” She asked me
“Why?”
I could see the tears building up in her eyes. It is not the first time I have seen her cry, but this is the first time the tears are actually because of me.
Deep down I just want to hold her and tell her everything will be fine. I know it is a lie. Things cannot be fine. How will things be fine when I just told my bestfriend’s fiancée that I am in love with her?
I still could not understand what she was feeling. I wondered why she slapped me. Is it because her fiancé is my bestfriend? Is it because she is going to be married to him in a week?
“Bisola, I am sorry to bring this up at a time like this” I said, hoping the problem was about the timing.
“I just had to tell you how I feel about you” I continued
“How long have you felt this way?” she asked
I could not look at her. I looked down and played with my fingers like a kid who was been scolded.
“Answer me Tolu” she screamed.
“I have always loved you” I replied.
She slapped me again and hit me on my chest severally with her fist. She cried hard and all I could do was hug her. She held on tightly to me. The pain in her voice was heartbreaking as she spoke.
“All this time when Seyi was treating me like trash and he hit me, all this time when we would fight and he will make me grovel just for him to forgive me ,you were in love with me?” she asked.
“Yes” was my weak reply
“Tolu, I hate you” Bisola said.
She stepped out of our hug and I could see the anger and hatred on her face.
“You had the chance to make us happy and you never said anything”
” I am sorry, but Seyi is my —
“Your bestfriend?” she asked
I nodded my head.
“Keep your sorry to yourself . I cannot leave him now. It is too late” she said as she was trying to compose herself. I just stood and watched her.
” I will see you at the wedding and forget about me. It is too late for us. I have committed to him. Just show up at the wedding and be his bestman as planned”
She came close to me and kissed me. With that she said goodbye. I was still there standing in the middle of my living room as I watched her leave, wondering what could have been. I could have been the one walking her down the aisle. It is too late. I slumped in the chair as I tried to drown my sorrows with a bottle of Jack Daniel asking myself the same question over and over. What if I had told her how I felt the first time I met her even before Seyi met her? What if?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2012 in Short Story

 

Tags: , , , , ,

18 responses to “What If

  1. Roteame

    February 20, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    *deja vu*… lovely… simply lovely.

     
  2. kookie

    February 17, 2012 at 8:27 am

    Ur 2 young 2 be thinkin of marriage #okbye

     
  3. nneka rita

    February 16, 2012 at 5:34 am

    Ok,seriously,I hate U rite now,lol.hw could u let dt happen 2 d both of u.and y on earth wld bisola marry a man dt treats her like thrash???is she really low on d self esteem pole?real or fiction,dese are issues goin on nowadays,thumbs up dear @hardeyi,nice blog story

     
  4. Favour

    February 15, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Hmmn!!touchy.a lesson 2 evri 1.nice one bro.although i really like 2 read d api endin of dis one.evri fairy tale has a api endin,right.

     
  5. MafabaAlaso

    February 15, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    What if u knack her akpako b4 her wedding next week? Nd what belle con show as a result of the akpako that was knacked?????

     
  6. adeniyi ademola

    February 15, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    (Y)

     
  7. toseen

    February 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Nice write up.i also write and i really enjoyed the story.reminds me of an indian movie i saw sometime ago.thumbs up!!

     
  8. @damiposh

    February 15, 2012 at 11:11 am

    aww hw sad..i hate thinking ‘what if’ jur..moving on!

     
  9. Wale Adenuga

    February 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

    OmG!!!!!! What if!!!!! Dis is painful, guys please Don’t dull, u meet d Girl u think u like, give it a try, u don’t wanna end up wiv what if, like my friend here……Awesome piece @Hardehyi (y)

     
  10. Jmoks

    February 15, 2012 at 10:45 am

    Smallz, Ʋ Я either a very creative writer or a guy with a super-adventurous life. For Bisola’s sake, I hope this is fiction. Good stuff bro *thumbs up*

     
  11. sheyi

    February 15, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Wow! Wonderful piece. *cleans face and sniffs*

     
  12. Dr_bamz

    February 15, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Ratatataata!! Hardeyi 1!! But even God no go forgive u ooo! LOL u made the babe suffer and u kept ur feelings to urself and WHAT IF seyi cancels the wedding? :d Good piece again!

     
  13. Ritzie

    February 15, 2012 at 10:19 am

    😦

     
  14. ToeJew

    February 15, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Very nice (Y)

     
  15. ladoxzy

    February 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

    9ice piece.. Well a lesson 4 evybody..

     
  16. Justine Onyedum

    February 15, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Dude! You’ve done it again! I always look forward to your next write up!

     
  17. Irven

    February 15, 2012 at 9:41 am

    Wow! Nice one

     
  18. ilove2read

    February 15, 2012 at 9:20 am

    *sniff* Dude you have done it again…… Lovely piece bruv!!!

     

Enter comment

 
