RSS

In His Shadow

20 Jan

It is day 20 of the year and already so many people have died. I always thought of this but I did not realize that death will strike so close to me so early this year. The news shocked me when I heard it. You were gone. Abimbola Aweda Rest In Peace till we meet at the feet of the Lord and part no more. Adieu.

I am here again. The same event centre that I have been to for the past ten years. Like the previous years, it is the end of the year. The venue, tastefully decorated with the ushers dressed to perfection. The stewards and stewardesses were all impeccably dressed.

I arrived at the party after been stuck in Lagos traffic for about an hour. I was ushered in to see a lot of people elegantly dressed. I saw her gesture to me and I moved towards her as quick as possible while trying to avoid hitting anyone. I sat down beside her and as I looked at his face, I saw the look and it spoke volumes. I could hear his voice in my ears saying “You are late again. Do not give me the excuse of been stuck in traffic, because if you had left early you will not be late.” This night is going to be long.

Once again, he beat the expectations of the company. He is the marketing manager, he runs everything that has to do with the products and once again he has broken the sales record set by him as he did year in year out. He was called to the podium. He was recognised and celebrated. He is to give a speech and in that speech he is thanking his sales team allover the country for making things possible, his wife who is my mum and to me. He has a health programme on radio,he writes for a marketing journal,he facilitates sales conference allover the nation and above all, he is my father.

I always fall short. I sometimes fear if I will not be able to get out of his shadow. I am the only child and as if that is not enough, people say I am a spitting image of him. His friends constantly tell me to my face that I have a long way to go to beat all he has achieved. Nothing I do seems to be enough. I get that he wants the best for me, but nothing I do seems to shock him. Is it because he expects it from me or because he feels he can do it better? I have looked for things we do not have in common just to at least shock him but I find we are so alike. Maybe if I could draw instead of write then I might be able to shock him. I ask myself, am I getting into my chosen career because I am so influenced by him or because it is what I want? I realize I actually love what I do. I am just as competitive as he is and that causes a lot of friction between us.

The night is coming to an end and once again people are coming around to congratulate him and get to meet his family. I am proud of him but once again I feel the pressure like never before. I think within myself I am going to come out of his shadow but with a lot of diligence, discipline and working smart. It is not going to be easy but I am getting out of his shadow. If I die doing that then I know I died fulfilled. I just have to get of his shadow.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2012 in Short Story

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “In His Shadow

  1. @temitope

    October 30, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Nice one

     
  2. sly

    February 7, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    Deep stuff bro….. We all feel the same way

     
  3. @damiposh

    January 21, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Definately fiction ryt?yes?
    Y ar u all quick to think dis is abt him?

     
  4. Luchiz

    January 20, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Absolutely love this,I think we can all relate with the feeling. Fantastic work sweets.

     
  5. Ade

    January 20, 2012 at 9:41 am

    Well…my Dad died early and the only manly figure I had to look up to was me. It was difficult at first and I got satisfied with any little thing I achieved but now I’m working on a blank page and leaving something the ones coming after me should set as a target.

     
  6. Tobi

    January 20, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Beautiful piece…straight from d hrt…
    Well,i guess u do nid to b ur own man 4u or 4d rest of ur life u’d kip doubting urself…
    God is ur muscle! Cos e no go easy *winks*

     
  7. adeniyi ademola

    January 20, 2012 at 8:58 am

    God knows i feel the same way… Good piece bro!

     
  8. Irven

    January 20, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Wow….u gud! Its fiction shey?

     
  9. Tobi

    January 20, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Beautiful piece…straight from d hrt…
    Well,i guess u do nid to b ur own man 4u or 4d rest of ur life u’d kip doubting urself…
    God is ur muscle! Cos e no go easy *winks*

     
  10. ibukun adeshina

    January 20, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Luv ?? diction..vewi subtle..well writen tho..

     
  11. MafabaAlaso

    January 20, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Baba, just keep doing what makes u happy. I like the fact that u don’t want to be in his shadow but have u considered climbing on his shoulders? 😀

    I saw that SUB, why did u now refer to ur mum as if she’s ur gurlfriend? I was busy xpectin sum stuffs to come up but *now washing my mind with klin* X_X

    Nice write-up and am sure he’s always proud of u but he knows u can be better so keep the surprise coming nd keep urself happy.

     
  12. Fleau

    January 20, 2012 at 8:07 am

    Really sincere.
    I like how u use ur emotions 2 tell a story dat might hv bin short but exposed alot.
    Ur a lucky man 2 hv a father like that.
    U no y he isnt shock at ur actions aint cos he expects dem or can do better but cos he envies u,in ur ability 2 b u n b comfortable nt chasing after one tin or d other.
    Be u n free his shadow.
    Cos ur d only kid no mean say u must live d way he wants u 2….
    Good piece.I LIKE IT.

     
  13. kookie

    January 20, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Hmmm! Is dis fictional?

     
  14. Jmoks

    January 20, 2012 at 7:51 am

    Hardeyi has done it again. Nice piece bro!

     
  15. ilove2read

    January 20, 2012 at 7:49 am

    I can relate to dis bruv ………. Same with my old man…. I sometimes feel like I cannot beat his achievements.

     
  16. doll

    January 20, 2012 at 7:44 am

    #speechless

     

Enter comment

 
