RSS

Dead or Alive

28 Nov

I actually do not know what to call this post, but you can call it whatever you want. I hope you find it interesting.

The hospital was a beehive of activities, two nurses were pushing a patient on a gurney down the hallway, it was not till they passed me that I noticed it is a actually a dead body with the sheet pulled over the head. The hospital staff were cold and unfeeling. They kept avoiding eye contact and polite conversation. It was as if the pain and death in the hospital had drained away their humanity.
I continued my walk down the hallway, I saw a man trying to console his wife as the doctor broke the news of the death of their son. I tried talking to them but my mouth could not move. They did not even notice me standing beside them. I could feel their grief and it was really cold. I turned left as I got to the end of the hallway. There was a door and above the lintel of the door were the words “Intensive Care Unit” boldly on the wall. I pushed the door open, there were rooms to the left and right. The place was choking and I felt nauseated. It seemed like there was a lack of oxygen in there or was it because majority of the patients in the ward were hanging by a thread. No one knowing if they will die or live. I smiled at the nurse who was walking towards me, there is a spot of blood on her uniform. She did not return my smile. What kind of hospital is this? Why are the staff so unfriendly and unsympathetic?
The whole ward was silent, except for the beeping of life-support machines. I could hear faintly my favourite track by Adele “Don’t You Remember” coming from the end of the ward. I walked towards the direction the music was coming from. It took me to Room 10. I looked into the room and there you were. You were seated by the bedside of a patient. I called out to you but you did not respond. I called your name again as I walked towards you. You stood up and started walking towards me. It was then I noticed that your eyes were swollen and red. I asked what was wrong with your eyes but nothing came out of your mouth. You stopped right in front of me and as I tried to hug you, I could not. I kept going through you. I could not understand what was happening. You turned and walked back to take your seat. I asked you who the patient is, and I did not get any reply from you. I got very angry and shouted at you, asking why you were ignoring me. You just burst out in tears. I walked over to comfort you and then I got the greatest shock of my life. The patient is ME!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

15 responses to “Dead or Alive

  1. adeniyi ademola

    November 28, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    Nice one Bro…heartfelt. Story

     
  2. asas

    November 28, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Sick brov…nice work…

     
  3. busybody

    November 28, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Nice story. Ua mixing up ur tenses tho.

     
  4. kasper

    November 28, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    You planning to die soon? Well nice write up though good use of English but intense didn’t know you did death stuffs. So when we expecting the complete Novel?

     
  5. kasper

    November 28, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    You planning to die soon? Well nice write up though good use of English but intense didn’t know you did death stuffs.

     
  6. justine

    November 28, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Probably your best! Nice one!

     
  7. pefdow

    November 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    9c! But I must d last 2 statements made me laf kinda…’he got d greatest shock of his life’ when he already had no life to shock…lol

     
  8. funmi fleau

    November 28, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Some emotional part of u coming out. I like this…I wish it had a story dough to lead us to it or a story after it. Is this goin to be some sort of series kinda tingy…
    I LOVE THIS THOUGH SINCERE AND SIMPLE AND PRETTY DESCRIPTIVE…not a typical write up. I like d guts

     
  9. SuperKunle

    November 28, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Well, this is really cool…i’d like to know how u died, tho…AIDS, or U got beaten to death for flirting with another mans wife…or u committed suicide by diving into your kitchen zinc that was filled with water….. Nyc 1, anyway!! 😀

     
  10. Roteame

    November 28, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    This is where I write R.I.P right?

    R.I.PSYCH!… Buahahahahaha duuuuuddeeeeeee ur death must have bin hilariously tragic, sad I missed it… Btw ghost write ups are cool… U and all these suspense filled, nollywood™ “watch out for part 2” like stories sha (I’m really fluent in gibberish rite). Its ur style and it rocks (y)

     
  11. moneybaron

    November 28, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    SCARY

     
  12. Omolexy

    November 28, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    This is a mighty great piece…i never knew u had it in you to write like this….Gud job

     
  13. doll

    November 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Hardeyi.. Sighs..

     
  14. Adepitan olufunmie

    November 28, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Wow! *wipes tears***

     
  15. ilove2read

    November 28, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Dude……….dis story gave me goosebumps…….. Nice write up!!!!!!

     

Enter comment

 
